Neil Drury

Fine Artist

Background: I was born and brought up in Ramsgate on the Isle of Thanet –  the easternmost corner of England. There is not a time when I don’t remember drawing and painting what I saw around me – the rich colours and textures of coastal flora and fauna, portraits of family and friends, everyday life in a seaside town.

Mediums: In the past I have created a lot of pieces using watercolour and gouache, both for their luminous and transparent qualities, and also because of the expressive fluidity of the mediums. Over the years, however, I have also grown more and more fond of pastel, which I found to be a rich, dramatic medium, capable of infinite sublties of line and texture. I enjoy using pastel in combination with other mediums, and more recently I have been using it in combination with printing techniques, notably monoprinting.

Website www.neildrury.com

Email neil@neildrury.com

