YVONNE JONES

I am a self-taught Artist and was born in Oxford, and have been sketching since early childhood. After giving up art for many years I took it up again 5 years ago.

I visited Italy and Sicily several times in recent years to do landscape painting and was inspired to exhibit for the first time at Oxfordshire Artweeks in May 2013, where I exhibited jointly with 2 friends, Milena Lebedeva and her sister Genia Neal from St Petersburg, Russia.
In August last year I decided to follow my childhood dream of being an artist and quit my job as a Legal Secretary, after working in administration for 31 years.
Since then I have exhibited alone at several events in Oxfordshire and other parts of the UK including:-
Oxford Art Fair at The Fishes in North Hinksey on 27 & 28 July 2013,
The Pegasus Theatre Art & Craft Fair on 7 September 2013,
Adderbury Art-Fest at St Mary’s Church, Adderbury, Banbury on 12 October 2013, and also at
Parallax Art Fair at Chelsea Old Town Hall 17 to 19 October 2013, an international event attended by artists from around the world.
I do human portraits in pencil and colour pencil, animal portraits in pencil, pastel and watercolour, landscapes in watercolour and acrylic, and botanical studies in pencil, coloured ink, and watercolour.  I have recently started experimenting with abstract art in a variety of media.
I currently have a selection of my artwork on display on the first floor of the Java & Co Coffee House on the corner of New Inn Hall Street and George Street, Oxford.  This exhibition will continue for a few more weeks. All work is available to buy.
I have several exhibitions already arranged for 2014 at the following venues:-
Oxfordshire Artweeks (Oxford City) 17 to 26 May 2014, with Milena Lebedeva at her flat in Wolvercote – confirmed
Broad Canvas Gallery – 31 May to 26 June 2014 – confirmed
Henley Business College – 19 July to 31 August 2014 – confirmed
The Fairway Exhibition Space at Oxford University Press 1 to 31 August 2014 – confirmed
Global Art Fair – 20 September 2014 – tbc
Barbados and Friends Society in Reading, Berkshire – Black History Month Exhibition in October 2014 – tbc.
You can view more of my work on my facebook page and website:
